Blockbuster, Netflix and the end of movies as a product

Interesting read…

Gigaom

Something funny happened this week when I read the news about Blockbuster (S DISH) shutting down all of its stores. For a split second, I thought: Wow, this means I can buy lots of DVDs at discount prices. Then I remembered that I don’t own a DVD player anymore.

Okay, that’s not entirely true. I do still have one, but it’s tucked away in the basement, and hasn’t been used in years. Instead, I stream everything. Netflix, (S NFLX) Hulu and the occasional VOD rental from services like Vudu (S VUDU) or Google (S GOOG) Play have kept me busy enough to also make me forget about those few hundred DVDs that I still own. And if I really ever wanted to watch something from a disk, I could always use my Macbook. (S AAPL) But honestly, I don’t remember the last time I did that.

I know what you’re…

View original post 683 more words

Leave a Reply

